SpanglefishTir Conaill Harps GAC | sitemap | log in
Senior Edge Championship Thriller
07 June 2010

 The Senior Mens Gaelic team registered a victory in the first round of the Scottish Championship with a thrilling win against Dundee Dalriada on Sunday the 6th of June. The final score was 3-11 to 2-12 in favour of the green n'golds.

The neutral venue of Cavalry Park in Edinburgh hosted the opening game of the championship. The match began with a brace of Dundee points, with TCH slow out of the blocks. However, as the players began to adjust to the wet conditions the scores began to flow. Derry O'Connor and Derrick McGrath were making hay in the full forward line, and some great distribution allowed both to tack on early scores. Both sides traded points before Tir Conaill grabbed a crucial goal before half time, with Francie Vaughan, finding himself in an unfamiliar setting, slotting home with aplomb. The Harps went into half time 4 points up, after a monster 45 into the wind from Damian Shannon.

After half time, the harps grabbed a quick goal through Derry O'Connor. And moments later, O'Connor was hauled down for a penalty, which Conor Manning dispatched. The game looked to be won, and with John Lyttle and Barry Doherty dominating midfield, more scores were tacked on. However, Dundee found some reserves from somewhere, and staged a heroic fightback . A couple of goals and some fine scores reduced the arrears to one point near the end. A calming score from Paddy McCauley seemed to close the game out, but Dundee fought on to reduce the gap to one gain. Young Kieran Turner, making his championship debut showed maturity beyond his years to score a fine point to increase the gap to two again. In the end, some heroic defending kept the Dundee forwards t bay, and at the final whistle, the harps savoured a good victory.

In defence, Diarmuid Nixon performed well, and Damian Shannon patrolled the 40' admirably. In the forwards, the tandem of Derry and Derrick proved a handful, and Conor Manning chipped in with his obligatory haul. 

Tir Conaill Harps 3-11 : Conor Manning (1-4), Derry O'Connor (1-1), Francie Vaughan (1-0), Derrick McGrath (0-2), Danny McGowan (0-1), Damian Shannon (0-1), Kieran Turner (0-1), Paddy McCauley (0-1)

WikanikoWork from Home
site map | cookie policy | privacy policy